MOU with Indian Yoga Association

All the Eminent Yoga schools and Yoga traditions have come together under the Indian Yoga Association, a self-regulatory body of all yoga organizations. Yog Rishi Swami Ramdev ji is the Chairman of the Governing Council that includes Sri. Sri. Ravishankar ji (Founder, Patanjali Yog Peeth, Haridwar), Sadhguru Jaggi Vasudev ji (Founder, Isha Foundation, Coimbatore), Dr Pranav Pandya ji (Chancellor, Dev Sanskriti Vishwavidyalaya, Haridwar), Swami Chidanand Saraswati (Muniji) (President, Parmarth Niketan, Rishikesh), OP Tiwari ji (Secretary General, Kaivalyadham, Lonavla) and Swami Bharat Bhushan ji (Founder, Mokshyatan, Saharanpur) (Sapta Rishis).

As you are also aware, Dr HR Nagendra (Chancellor, Swami Vivekananda Yoga Anusandhana Sasmthana, Bengaluru) is the President of the General Body and the Executive Council.

It was decided by the elders that UPBTVP and IYA will enter into a MOU to initiate and develop yoga activities. The following activities were broadly envisaged for the same:

  • a. Yoga Village(s) in Braj
    An IYA-run center in one or more location which will become showcase of all traditions of Yoga through IYA Member-institutions
  • b. Yoga Training Centers
  • c. Yoga in Healthcare
  • d. Yoga Skilling Programs and Centers
  • e. Yoga in Temples
  • f. Yoga Tourism
  • g. Yoga Economic Zones
    and any other yoga-related activities.

The MOU of UPBTVP-IYA can be downloaded here

A Joint Implementation and Coordination Committee was formed chaired by the Vice Chairman, UPBTVP.

In the first meeting of the JICC, some important decisions were made including:

  • - Setting up JICC, UPBTVP-IYA, Mathura Office.
  • - About 8 parks in Mathura to be provided with yogashalas for free classes (Patanjali will conduct these classes or anyone else by turn).

You can read the Minutes of the JICC meeting by clicking here